top of page

Fri, 21 Jan


City Halls

Scottish Chamber Orchestra: MUSIQUE AMÉRIQUE

MILHAUD- La Création du monde (16') COPLAND- Clarinet Concerto (16') Interval (20') BERNSTEIN (ARR. RAMIN)- Sonata for Clarinet & Orchestra (11') POULENC- Sinfonietta (28')

Registration is closed
See other events
Scottish Chamber Orchestra: MUSIQUE AMÉRIQUE
Scottish Chamber Orchestra: MUSIQUE AMÉRIQUE

Time & Location

21 Jan 2022, 19:30

City Halls, 100 Candleriggs, Glasgow G1 1NQ, UK

About the event

Put on your dancing shoes and let your hair down to join the SCO in jazzy, foot-tapping style on both sides of the Atlantic, with Conductor Emeritus Joseph Swensen as master of ceremonies.

Dixieland meets Baroque brilliance in Milhaud’s bewitching ballet score La Création du monde, infused with the jazz he encountered on the streets of Harlem, while Poulenc freely mixes Mozart, Tchaikovsky and catchy Parisian tunes in the breathless energy of his sunny Sinfonietta.

SCO Principal Clarinet Maximiliano Martín is a remarkably expressive soloist in his own right, and he completes the programme with two larger-than-life masterpieces: the bittersweet lyricism and wild euphoria of Copland’s Clarinet Concerto, written for jazz legend Benny Goodman; and Bernstein’s jazzy, snazzy Sonata, recast across the vivid colours of the Orchestra.

Share this event

bottom of page